Day 1: Hydrate

As a professional depression-haver, one thing has become annoyingly evident over time. If you feel like shit physically, you feel like shit mentally.

When your therapist tells you to eat, or hydrate, or exercise, we can all agree that it’s the worst. Unfortunately, it’s good advice.

That said, as a professional depression-haver, sometimes it’s not that simple.

Today, I felt like absolute shit. I know I haven’t been eating enough, or right, or having enough water, or exercising enough.

We’re picking a single struggle today: Hydration.

So, since hydration was the struggle, and there was no way on God’s green earth I was going to choke down 8 bottles of water today, I went to IV Nutrition on S. Lamar Boulevard. It’s an IV drip place where you can select different types of IVs, vitamin shots, whatever. I booked it through ClassPass to get some extra savings.

When you check in, they offer a consultation, but I knew what I was about, so we skipped that part. You’ll fill out some forms, they hook you up to an IV, and you chill out for 30 to 45 minutes. Presto, you’re hydrated. The staff is incredibly nice. They’ll grab you a snack, a drink, or just let you nap.

I felt like dog shit when I walked in, and though I’m still tired, I feel remarkably less like dog shit.

This can be an expensive thing to do for some people, but every once in a while, it’s good for righting the ship. Either that or grab some Pedialyte.

Whatever you do, hydrate, because even though it’s FUCKING ANNOYING, you’ll feel better after. Promise.

Day 1 is done, and we keep it pushing. Love you, mean it.

Leave a comment